关于Tech-X公司

Tech-X公司创始人约翰-卡里博士的专业照片

一个令人兴奋的时刻

随着千禧年的结束,许多物理学家对物理学和计算机科学的融合变得越来越兴奋。计算正在大大加快该领域的进展。 约翰-R-卡里博士科罗拉多大学的教授约翰-R-卡里博士和他的同事们认识到,将这两个领域合并是一个将他们的研究用于解决复杂的现实世界问题的机会。因此,Tech-X公司于1994年在科罗拉多州博尔德市成立。

对可扩展性的需求

在早期,Tech-X使用面向对象编程来创建描述粒子跟踪的代码。 虽然很成功,但Tech-X团队意识到他们的想法可以用来使更复杂的代码具有可扩展性,即能够有效利用大量的计算机处理器。 如果没有可扩展性,这些代码的适用性将受到限制,无法解决等离子体和束流物理学领域正在研究的更大问题。

绿地实施方法导致VORPAL的出现

他们采取了一种 "绿地实施 "的方法,这需要完全从头开始构建代码,他们开始了新代码的工作,这就是后来的VORPAL。第一篇描述VORPAL的论文于2004年发表在《计算物理学杂志》上。第二篇使用VORPAL解释激光-等离子体相互作用的论文在同年登上了《自然》杂志的封面--这对任何科学家来说都是一项巨大的成就。 自2004年以来,这两篇论文总共被引用了近3000次,因为许多其他科研单位都选择在他们的研究中使用VORPAL代码。

VSim的推出

2010年,为了满足消费者对更多用户友好型软件日益增长的需求,VSim应运而生。VSim采用了强大的VORPAL物理引擎,并将其与VSimComposer图形用户界面相结合,使用户能够创建物理模拟,而不需要手动编程。也是在这个时候,为VSim创建了可定制的 "包",以便用户可以定制他们工作所需的确切功能。

USim和RSim

随着全球 VSim 的全球销售增长,Tech-X注意到对VSim框架之外的其他产品的需求。2013年,第一个版本的 USim的第一个版本,这是一个带电的多流体仿真应用程序,已出售给消费者。最近,Tech-X又发布了 RSim该产品是Tech-X与NASA猎户座任务合作的产物。用于模拟辐射传输,RSim是一个用户友好的模拟产品,应用范围包括核医学和宇航员屏蔽。

我们的使命

从它早期在科罗拉多州博尔德的家开始,Tech-X已经成长为一个主要的模拟软件供应商,其产品被各行业和专业的工程师和科学家所使用。 现在,Tech-X的软件产品可以在世界各地找到,它们继续增强创新能力,并为复杂的问题发现现实世界的解决方案。
滚动到顶部

OUR STORY

AN EXCITING TIME

As the millennium drew to a close, many physicists were becoming increasingly excited about the convergence of physics and computer science. Computation was greatly accelerating progress in the field, and Dr. John R. Cary, a professor at the University of Colorado, along with his colleague, Dr. Svetlana Shasharina, saw the merging of the two fields as an opportunity to apply their research to solve real-world problems. Together, they founded Tech-X Corporation in Boulder, Colorado in 1994.

The Need for Scalability

In the early years, Tech-X used object oriented programming to create codes that described particle tracking. Though successful, the Tech-X team realized their ideas could be used to make more complex codes scalable, i.e., be able to make effective use of large numbers of computer processors. Without scalability, the codes would be limited in their applicability, and unable to tackle the larger problems being researched in the field of plasma and beam physics.

Greenfield Implementation Approach Leads to VORPAL

Taking a “greenfield implementation” approach, which requires building code completely from scratch, they began work on a new code, which would later be known as VORPAL. The first paper describing VORPAL was published in the Journal of Computational Physics in 2004. A second paper that used VORPAL to explain laser-plasma interactions was featured on the cover of Nature that same year – a huge accomplishment to any scientist. Combined, these two papers have been cited nearly 3000 times since 2004, as numerous other scientific entities have chosen to use the VORPAL code in their research.

The Launch of VSim

In 2010, in response to growing consumer demand for more user-friendly software, VSim was created. VSim took the powerful VORPAL physics engine and combined it with the VSimComposer graphical-user-interface, allowing users to create physics simulations without the need for manual programming. It was also around this time that customizable “packages” were created for VSim so that users can customize the exact capabilities needed for their work.

USim and RSim

As global sales of VSim grew, Tech-X observed a need for additional products outside of the VSim framework. In 2013 the first version of USim, a charged, multi-fluids simulation application, was sold to consumers. Most recently, Tech-X has released RSim, a product that grew out of a Tech-X collaboration with NASA’s Orion mission. Used to simulate radiation transport, RSim is a user-friendly simulation product with applications from nuclear medicine to astronaut shielding.

Our Mission

From its early beginnings in a home in Boulder, Colorado, Tech-X has grown into a premier simulation software provider, whose products are used by engineers and scientists across industries and specialties. Tech-X software products can now be found around the world, where they continue to empower innovation, and discover real-world solutions to complex problems.